The Iosis concept! The showpiece of "Kinetic" design for Ford of Europe! This is where Ford should have gone for their North American designs, not the "Taurus/500". Not DAVEWednesday, August 29, 2007
This is what I'm talking about, these are Bold Moves!
The Iosis concept! The showpiece of "Kinetic" design for Ford of Europe! This is where Ford should have gone for their North American designs, not the "Taurus/500". Not DAVEWhat's going to happen to poor Ford?

Bring the EcoSport/Fusion here!
Tuesday, August 28, 2007
Look at that spike in June!
I found this amazing, I posted a video in June from YouTube of TopGear's review of Focus ST and look at the traffic spike!! I have to admit that I'm also amazed at the traffic level for the months where I posted nothing at all?? Sorry about these nonsensical posts tonight, but getting back into the groove of blogging again is a process. Besides, I'm not a professional, just some guy.
Looking back at my begining...........
I guess I wanted to be the Ford version of AutoBlog or Jalopnik, I don't know.
I learned a lot in the last 2 years and Blogger added a lot of features that made it easier too.
I had some fundamental guidelines, it should be FREE, not cost me a dime, and it should be fun.
When it started to be painful, I slowed down.
Linked in the title is my first post on MyFordDreams, take a look.
Not dead, not yet


Tuesday, August 21, 2007
Can I proudly wave the Blue Oval bannter driving this.....?
So there's the $64 dollar question, can I claim to be BigFordFan driving a Mazda?I say yes! Because this is the Ford I should have been able to buy. The Mazda3 shares more in common with the Euro Ford Focus than the current offering in the US does. Same great chassis, better appointments, the works.
Monday, June 04, 2007
Sunday, June 03, 2007
MyFordDreams floundering? Getting long in the tooth?
As much as I still jones for a Reflex fix, is MyFordDreams floundering? It's been a month since I last posted anything and it was touch and go before that. Don't get me wrong my love of things Ford is still strong, but there hasn't been a lot of good news to write about. And I'm just tired of doing nothing more than bitch about what's wrong with Ford's lineup. For 2 years I've blogged at MyFordDreams and MyFordDreams2, but I'm not sure I have it in me anymore.
There are others outthere who get paid to do this, I don't. This has always been a labor of love for me. But where's the love? Where is the warm feeling for Ford? Like Ford's sales, the interest is slipping. I love what Ford does overseas, the Fiesta, Focus, Mondeo, Falcon and much much more. But with the exception of endless special Mustang models what do we have to look forward to in North America? Sure, we're supposed to get a Fiesta in 09, and sales of some of the new product like the Edge and Fusion are improving, but what excitement is there?Saturday, April 28, 2007
Fiesta finally??

Wednesday, April 18, 2007
Jalopnik has news about Lincoln MKS, why am I not thrilled?
Jalopnik (and AutoBlog) has a piece on the Lincoln MKS, well actually a disguised test mule and speculation that it could have up to 380 hp from a twin turbo version of Ford's new 3.5L V6. And you wonder why I'm not thrilled right? I mean a Lincoln with 380 hp! Well lets start with that. You know FoMoCo doesn't have the stones to actually produce a car with that much power, even with all wheel drive. And despite the MKS not being the ugliest car I've ever seen, it's not the most awe inspiring either.
And lets face it kids, it's just a pimped out 500/Taurus. Not that the Taurus is a bad car, but is it a "flagship" vehicle?? Lincoln would be better served by the MKR concept in that respect.Saturday, April 14, 2007
Why it's difficult to be a Ford fan at the New York Auto Show
So, I fnally got to the Javits Center this Friday and while I'm sure you've read about everything on AutoBlog and Jalopnik, but here's my take on the show in general and Ford's offerings in particular. It's getting tough be be enthusiastic about FoMoCo these days. I can take a positive spin and say how nice the Edge/CX9/MKX are, how really impressed I was with the Volvo C30 and how cool the Lincoln MKR and Ford Interceptor concepts looked. The concepts were well received by the crowd, even after a week of the show being open to the public. But as hard as I tried, I just couldn't become one of the sheep and ooh and aah at the Interceptor. It's just a shame really. As the spokesman stood on the rotating turntable dazzling the crowd with specs like "330 hp from the 5.0 Cammer engine" I could not help but want to puke my guts up when he with a straight face tried to excite the crowd with " and underneath, you'll find the Mustang multi link rear suspension with solid rear axle. What??? Hold on, solid rear axle?
And the story got no better at the turntable for the new Shelby GT500KR. An improved multi link rear supsention and solid axle. And for the incredible markup we can expect from dealers over list price, you get only about 25 more horsepower, a different hood and other minor improvements. So let's guess that the list price will be about $50k and that like the GT500 dealers will shaft you for another $20k. If you're gonna screw me like that, at least kiss me first!
Thursday, April 12, 2007
MojoRadioLive to revamp and relaunch in May


Just when I was starting to warm up to Mulally, he goes and pulls a bonehead move like this.

Wednesday, April 04, 2007
Holy crap, AutoBlog has Volvo C30 pricing
The closest we can get to this in the US is the new Volvo C30, and now.............
Autoblog has fairly comprehnsive pricing information on the new Volvo C30, the 3 door version of the Ford Focus based S40. And I'm impressed with several things. First is the fact that the Turbo 5 will be the only engine, and putting out 227hp. Second is the base price below $23,000.
And as impressive as 227 hp is, the MazdaSpeed3 beats that by over 20 hp for around the same price, with more standard equipment.
Now for my money, and that's what's important to me, the Mazda is the beter deal. Hell, my 3 Cost less than the base price of the C30 and it's loaded with the exception of auto trans and DVD navigation!! Sure I only have 160 hp, but those heated leather seats and 6 disc CD stereo help smooth things out when I open my power moonroof in January. And I've got 2 more doors.
Friday, March 30, 2007
AutoBlog has details on GT500KR and quite frankly, I'm not impressed.
Thursday, March 29, 2007
Ford Shelby GT500KR What's going to make this King of the Road?
I found this over at Jalopnik, and I wonder what's going to make the new GT500KR better than last year's GT500? Is it finally going to get an IRS? Is there going to be more than 500 hp? What's going to make them King of the Road? And what's it going to cost? The GT500 is impressive, there's no doubt about that, but there is room for improvement. I doubt Ford is going to give it the IRS it so sorely needs.
Is this just another way to screw Mustang enthusiasts?? Is this just old money bags Carrol Shelby cashing in again?
I know you're thinking "what kind of Mustang enthusiast are you Joe?" Well, I'm one that's sick of half hearted efforts on Ford's part. I'm also one of the rare enthusiasts that doesn't bow down and whorship at the altar of Shelby. While I respect the cars, he's just a man. Just the first of several to slap their name on the Mustang and overcharge for it. Saleen, Roush, Steeda, all Shelby clones a generation later.
Wednesday, March 28, 2007
This video will change your mind about speed! (not really)
I'm posting this video for only one reason, it features Australian Ford Falcons. It's a public service message about the evil of SPEED. While there may be valid points raised, it really won't change the way I drive.
Tuesday, March 27, 2007
The still unanswered chalenge!
The still unanswered challenge at Ford is the B segment sub-compact. If sales of GM's Aveo, Honda's Fit and DCX's Caliber/Patriot/Compass triplets and assorted other micro cars aren't enough proof, what will it take for Ford to get off the blocks? The Focus is a good car, could be better if we got the Euro/New Focus, like my Mazda3, and not just an "Americanized" refresh and 2 door coupe. I'm not saying the new coupe is a bad idea, but even with the entry price of the Focus ZX3 below $14k and the 2.0L base model achieving 37 MPG, that's not enough!
Well, that's not entirely true, the numbers for the base Focus are very competative on paper, matching the new batch of "B" entries to our market. But still the perception is that Ford has become stale, not just the Focus, but the entire brand. And while the new Edge and renamed Taurus/Taurus X and even the very capable Fusion are fine, they don't address the perception that Ford isn't bringing fresh product to market.
The Fusion is based on the very good Fiesta chassis, but is about the size of the Fit. It's a really capable five door wagon with room for most family needs. I've seen the Fusion up close and personal when I was in Ireland on vacation and the pictures don't do justice to how nice this is.
And in Latin American markets there's even an all wheel drive soft roader version called the EcoSport. No dual range transfer case or rock crawling gears, but more than suitable for North Eastern snow storms and the ocassional trip to the beach or hiking. No worse than you get from Subaru, as far as "Off Road" capability goes.
There's been much speculation in the automotive press/blogsphere about Ford utilizing the Mazda2 for their B segment model. That's fine with me, since both the Fiesta and Mazda2 are built on the same platform and share powertrains. If it makes the Japan loving press happy to say it's Mazda based, so be it. But in reality, the European/Latin American production would be cheaper to import than Japanese produced models.

This is a photoshopped guess of what the next Fiesta (sporty version) may look like, from Auto Express, a UK auto magazine.








